Bharatiya Nyaya Sanhita BNS Explained

Bharatiya Nyaya Sanhita is the new criminal code of India which came into force effective from 1st July 2024.

This has replaced the erstwhile Indian Penal Code IPC.

What is Bharatiya Nyaya Sanhita BNS, Key points:

Bhartiya nyaya sanhita is the new criminal code came into being effective from first July 2024 in India. It is replacement for erstwhile British era code Indian Penal Code (IPC).

Making certain modifications in the existing criminal law, BNS was approved by the parliament on 25th December 2023.

  • Going further All cases in all police stations shall be registered under BNS instead of IPC.
  • IPC and CRPC have been repealed and BNS, BNSS and BNA came into force.
  • Zero FIR and e-FIR provisions have been included under BNS.
  • Henceforth, Victims of Crimes can file case in any police station irrespective of the area where the crime happened.
  • For the crimes where immediate action is required, Zero FIR can be filed in any Police station which will later will transferred to the concerned police station and department.
  • e FIR through online mode can be filed by the victim.
  • 20 new offences and 19 provisions have been repealed from IPC.

In the BNS, 20 new offences have been added to and 19 provisions in the repealed IPC have been dropped. The punishment of imprisonment has been increased for 33 offences, and fines have been increased for 83 offences. A mandatory minimum punishment has been introduced for 23 offences. A sentence of community service has been introduced for six offences.

The punishments to which offenders are liable under the provisions of this Sanhita

(a) Death;

(b) Imprisonment for life;

(c) Imprisonment, which is of two descriptions, namely:—

(1) Rigorous, that is, with hard labour;

(2) Simple;

(d) Forfeiture of property;

(e) Fine;

(f) Community Service.

The appropriate Government may, without the consent of the offender, commute any punishment under this Sanhita to any other punishment in accordance with section 474of the Bharatiya Nagarik Suraksha Sanhita, 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You cannot copy content of this page