

भारत निर्वाचन आयोग Election Commission of India

निर्वाचन सदन NIRVACHAN SADAN अशोक रोड, नई दिल्ली -110001 ASHOKA ROAD, NEW DELHI-110001

No. ECI/PN/177/2025

Dated: 29th January, 2025

PRESS NOTE

Subject: Biennial election to the Legislative Councils of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana from Graduates' and Teachers' Constituencies-reg.

The term of office of 03 members of the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council from 02 Graduates' and 01 Teachers' Constituency and 03 member of the Telangana Legislative Council from 01 Graduates' and 02 Teachers' Constituencies are expiring on 29th March, 2025, due to retirement of the sitting members as detailed below:-

Andhra Pradesh				
Sl. No.	Name of Constituency	Name of the Member (Ms./Mrs./Mr.)	Date of retirement	
i.	East-West Godavari Graduates'	Illa Venkateswara Rao	29.03.2025	
ii.	Krishna-Guntur Graduates'	K S Lakshmana Rao		
iii.	Srikakulam-Vizianagaram-	Pakalapati Raghu Varma		
	Visakhapatnam Teachers'			
i.	Medak-Nizamabad Adilabad- Karimnagar Graduates'	T. Jeevan Reddy		
ii.	Medak-Nizamabad-Adilabad- Karimnagar Teachers'	Kura Raghotham Reddy	29.03.2025	
iii.	Warangal-Khammam -Nalgonda Teachers'	Alugubelli Narsi Reddy		

2. The Commission has decided to conduct biennial election to the Legislative Councils of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana from above-mentioned Graduates' and Teachers' Constituencies in accordance with the following programme:-

Dolo

S. No.	Events	Dates	
1.	Issue of Notification	03 rd February, 2025 (Monday)	
2.	Last Date for making nominations	10 th February, 2025 (Monday)	
3.	Scrutiny of nominations	11 th February, 2025 (Tuesday)	
4.	Last date for the withdrawal of candidatures	13 th February, 2025 (Thursday)	
5.	Date of Poll	27 th February, 2025 (Thursday)	
6.	Hours of Poll	08:00 am to 04:00 pm	
7.	Counting of Votes	03 rd March, 2025 (Monday)	
8.	Date before which election shall be completed	08 th March, 2025 (Saturday)	

- Broad Guidelines of Covid-19 issued by the Commission, as contained in para 33 of Press Note, dated 03.11.2022, available at link: https://www.eci.gov.in/eci-backend/public/api/download?url=LMAhAK6sOPBp%2FNFF0iRfXbEB1EVSLT41NNLRjYNJJP1KivrUxbfqk
 https://www.eci.gov.in/eci-backend/public/api/download?url=LMAhAK6sOPBp%2FNFF0iRfXbEB1EVSLT41NNLRjYNJJP1KivrUxbfqk
 https://www.eci.gov.in/eci-backend/public/api/download?url=LMAhAK6sOPBp%2FNFF0iRfXbEB1EVSLT41NNLRjYNJJP1KivrUxbfqkDatmHy12e%2FzVx8fLfn2ReU7TfrqYobgIg5mD1wF5S%2FZXPhQgD4VIKIMSPL0N5FWF1VoH8oPTnXgDsP9B2iaJCrQLo%2FnA%2Fc2NHjnhNMwmCRY5P%2FYdSwGcQIfcDqNyNaupRk6WhpbTHK1">https://www.eci.gov.in/eci-backend/public/api/download?url=LMAhAK6sOPBp%2FNFF0iRfXbEB1EVSLT41NNLRjYNJJP1KivrUxbfqkDatmHy12e%2FzVx8fLfn2ReU7TfrqYobgIg5mD1wF5S%2FZXPhQgD4VIKIMSPL0N5FWF1VoH8oPTnXgDsP9B2iaJCrQLo%2FnA%2Fc2NHjnhNMwmCRY5P%2FYdSwGcQIfcDqNyNaupRk6WhpbTHK1">https://www.eci.gov.in/eci-backend/public/api/download?url=LMAhAK6sOPBp%2FYdSwGcQIfcDqNyNaupRk6WhpbTHK1 to be followed, wherever applicable, during entire election process by all persons.
- 4. The Model Code of Conduct concerning these elections will come into force with immediate effect in the concerned Constituencies. The details thereof are available on the Commission's website under the link: https://old.eci.gov.in/files/file/4070-biennial-bye-elections-to-the-legislative-councils-from-council-constituencies-by-graduates%E2%80%99-and-teachers%E2%80%99-and-local-authorities%E2%80%99-constituencies-%E2%80%93-mcc-instructions-%E2%80%93-regarding/

(PRAFULL AWASTHI) UNDER SECRETARY